Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here
Subscribe to Aleteia's free newsletter: Goodness. Beauty. Truth. No yelling.
Sign me up!

Not Prepared to Donate?

Here are 5 ways you can still help Aleteia:

  1. Pray for our team and the success of our mission
  2. Talk about Aleteia in your parish
  3. Share Aleteia content with friends and family
  4. Turn off your ad blockers when you visit
  5. Subscribe to our free newsletter and read us daily
Thank you!
Team Aleteia



Hillsong United rocks a crowd with “What a Beautiful Name”


The shows are bound to be good with such a wide assortment of talent.

Until 1998, Hillsong United was two youth group bands from Hillsong Church, in Sydney. As the members all grew up they decided they no longer needed to have separate bands for different age groups, so they came together to form Hillsong United.

Since then, they have released 13 albums, five of which have reached #1 on the US Christian Billboard list. Hillsong United released “What a Beautiful Name” in January, 2017, as the lead single to their album Let There Be Light. It was written by Hillsong’s Ben Fielding and New Zealand singer-songwriter Brooke Fraser, who is the lead vocalist on this recording.

Aside from working with Hillsong United, Brooke is the top-selling and most popular New Zealand recording artist of all time. Her albums are certified 15x Platinum (15 million sold).

This music video is their official release. It was recorded live at the Hillsong Conference in Sydney, an annual Christian music festival organized by Hillsong Church. The event takes place in Sydney, London, and Los Angeles.

Follow Cecilia–Aleteia’s music page–on Facebook!

Song: What a Beautiful Name | Singer: Hillsong United

Hillsong United


  • Joel Houston — worship leader, guitar, keys, percussion

  • Jonathon “JD” Douglass — worship leader, percussion

  • Jad Gillies — worship leader, guitar

  • Matt Crocker — worship leader, guitar, percussion

  • Taya Smith — worship leader

  • Dylan Thomas — rhythm guitar, keys, music director

  • Adam Crosariol — bass guitar

  • Simon Kobler — drums

  • Michael Guy Chislett — guitar, keys, music director

  • Benjamin “Ben” Tennikoff — keyboards, programming, sampling

Lives in: Hillsong, Australia

Latest Album: Wonder (2017)

Interesting Fact: The band started in 1998. The song “Oceans” was released in September, 2013 and remained number one on the Billboard Christian Songs for 48 weeks.


Facebook: hillsongunited

Twitter: @hillsongunited
Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here.
Aleteia offers you this space to comment on articles. This space should always reflect Aleteia values.
[See Comment Policy]