The church is known as St. Ivan's cave, after the hermit who lived there and performed miracles.
On the side of Gellért Hill, named for St. Gellért after he was martyred on it, there exists a small cave which contains a charming early 20th-century church. Known as St. Ivan’s Cave after the hermit who lived there and performed miracles, the church is now run by Pauline monks, but it has quite a bit of history for a church that has been around less than 100 years.
Before it was a church, the cave formed by thermal springs lent shelter to a poor family, who built rudimentary structures using sun-dried bricks. The church was founded in 1926 when a group of Pauline monks returned from a pilgrimage to Lourdes, France. The altar was originally at the mouth of the cave and the congregation would have stood outside of the cave to worship. This is most likely where it got the name Sziklatemplom (“Rock Church”) in Hungarian.