Aleteia logoAleteia logo
Monday 02 August |
Saint of the Day: St. Peter Julian Eymard
home iconSpirituality
line break icon

What is the Pentateuch?


Roylindman | CC BY SA 3.0

Philip Kosloski - published on 05/12/18

For those unfamiliar with the biblical term.

When studying the bible, one term that will often be mentioned is the “Pentateuch.” What is it?

The Pentateuch consists of the first five books of the Old Testament: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. These are often called the “Five Books of Moses,” as Jewish tradition claims Moses as the author. The word Pentateuch is derived from a Greek word, pentateuchos, which simply means a book with five volumes.

Jews usually refer to these books as the “Torah” (sometimes translated as “the Law”). The Torah serves as the essential reference point for Jewish beliefs. For Christians it is the foundation of God’s revelation that was to be later fulfilled in the person of Jesus Christ.

The content of the Pentateuch is described by the introduction to the New American Bible: “The Pentateuch witnesses to a coherent story that begins with the creation of the world and ends with Israel taking its land … For Christians particularly, the Pentateuch portrays the pilgrim people waiting for the full realization of the kingdom of God.”

While some parts of the Pentateuch can be difficult to read for the modern reader, these five books can come alive through a guided study and reveal how God created the world, established a people on earth and set them on a path to redemption.


Read more:
What did Jesus mean when he talked about the “iota”?


Read more:
Where did the Bible come from?

Support Aleteia!

If you’re reading this article, it’s thanks to the generosity of people like you, who have made Aleteia possible.

Here are some numbers:

  • 20 million users around the world read every month
  • Aleteia is published every day in seven languages: English, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish, and Slovenian
  • Each month, readers view more than 50 million pages
  • Nearly 4 million people follow Aleteia on social media
  • Each month, we publish 2,450 articles and around 40 videos
  • We have 60 full time staff and approximately 400 collaborators (writers, translators, photographers, etc.)

As you can imagine, these numbers represent a lot of work. We need you.

Support Aleteia with as little as $1. It only takes a minute. Thank you!

Daily prayer
And today we celebrate...

Top 10
Cerith Gardiner
Simone Biles leaves the Olympics with an important lesson for her...
Ignacio María Doñoro
Francisco Veneto
The military chaplain who pretended to be a criminal to rescue a ...
Cerith Gardiner
Gold-winning Filipina Olympian shares her Miraculous Medal for th...
Theresa Civantos Barber
The one thing we all should do before this summer ends
Zelda Caldwell
German women’s gymnastics teams modest dress protests sport’s ...
Violeta Tejera
Carlo Acutis’ first stained glass window in jeans and sneak...
Zelda Caldwell
World-record winning gymnast Simone Biles leans on her Catholic f...
See More
Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here.