Aleteia logoAleteia logoAleteia
Friday 09 June |
Saint of the Day: St. Ephrem of Syria
Aleteia logo
separateurCreated with Sketch.

What are the 4 marks of the Catholic Church?


Public Domain

Philip Kosloski - published on 09/28/18

Four characteristics of the Church that are intertwined and recited during the Nicene Creed.

What can God do in your life with one Bible verse a day?
Subscribe to Aleteia's new service and bring Scripture into your morning:
Just one verse each day.
Click to bring God's word to your inbox

The Catholic Church, as established by Jesus Christ, has developed over the years and since the very beginning has possessed four particular characteristics.

These attributes are often called the “four marks of the Church,” and identify four fundamental characteristics.

The Catechism of the Catholic Church explains, “These four characteristics, inseparably linked with each other, indicate essential features of the Church and her mission. The Church does not possess them of herself; it is Christ who, through the Holy Spirit, makes his Church one, holy, catholic, and apostolic, and it is he who calls her to realize each of these qualities” (CCC 811).

Here are the four marks and a brief description of each.


Read more:
Quiz: What are the 12 fruits of the Holy Spirit?


Read more:
Do you know which virtues can defeat the seven deadly sins?

Support Aleteia!

Enjoying your time on Aleteia?

Articles like these are sponsored free for every Catholic through the support of generous readers just like you.

Thanks to their partnership in our mission, we reach more than 20 million unique users per month!

Help us continue to bring the Gospel to people everywhere through uplifting and transformative Catholic news, stories, spirituality, and more.

Support Aleteia with a gift today!

Daily prayer
And today we celebrate...

Entrust your prayer intentions to our network of monasteries

Top 10
See More
Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here.