Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here
Subscribe to Aleteia's free newsletter: Goodness. Beauty. Truth. No yelling.
Sign me up!

Not Prepared to Donate?

Here are 5 ways you can still help Aleteia:

  1. Pray for our team and the success of our mission
  2. Talk about Aleteia in your parish
  3. Share Aleteia content with friends and family
  4. Turn off your ad blockers when you visit
  5. Subscribe to our free newsletter and read us daily
Thank you!
Team Aleteia



2 Ancient categories that all saints are separated into

Public Domain

All saints can be sorted out into these two categories that were developed by the early Church.

Initially the Church didn’t have a formal canonization process, but they held up for veneration men and women who were saintly examples during their life and at the moment of their death.

These “saints” were later categorized into two primary groups, into which all saints are separated. The categories hinge on the way the person died and how closely they imitated Jesus’ death on the cross.

Read more: The saint-makers: Why did Popes John Paul II, Benedict and Francis canonize so many saints?

Read more: A visual guide to 3 types of Christian martyrdom

Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here.
Aleteia offers you this space to comment on articles. This space should always reflect Aleteia values.
[See Comment Policy]
Readers like you contribute to Aleteia's Mission.

Since our inception in 2012, Aleteia’s readership has grown rapidly worldwide. Our team is committed to a mission of providing articles that enrich, inspire and inform a Catholic life. That's why we want our articles to be freely accessible to everyone, but we need your help to do that. Quality journalism has a cost (more than selling ads on Aleteia can cover). That's why readers like you make a major difference by donating as little as $3 a month.