Aleteia logoAleteia logoAleteia
Wednesday 06 July |
Saint of the Day: St. Maria Goretti
Aleteia logo
separateurCreated with Sketch.

January 6 has been called these four names throughout history


David Zelenka | CC BY SA 3.0

Philip Kosloski - published on 01/05/19

Can you name them all?

In the Catholic Church’s liturgical calendar, a great feast has always been celebrated on January 6. However, it has taken on various meanings throughout the centuries and has been called by four different names.

According to the Golden Legend, a medieval document that compiled various stories that the Church has handed down over the years, the four names of January 6 are tied to four events that occurred on the same day, though years apart. Whether or not these events did happen on the same day is a matter of debate, but medieval Christians had a custom of assigning major events in the life of Christ to the same day in the calendar (March 25 is another example).


Read more:
Is March 25 the historical date of the crucifixion?

Below is an explanation of the four names as found in the Golden Legend.


Read more:
Why is the visit of the Magi called the “Epiphany”?


Read more:
What is the Theophany?

Support Aleteia!

Enjoying your time on Aleteia?

Articles like these are sponsored free for every Catholic through the support of generous readers just like you.

Thanks to their partnership in our mission, we reach more than 20 million unique users per month!

Help us continue to bring the Gospel to people everywhere through uplifting and transformative Catholic news, stories, spirituality, and more.

Support Aleteia with a gift today!

Daily prayer
And today we celebrate...

Entrust your prayer intentions to our network of monasteries

Top 10
See More
Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here.