Aleteia logoAleteia logoAleteia
Saturday 04 February |
Saint of the Day: Bl. Rabanus Maurus
Aleteia logo
separateurCreated with Sketch.

Are the 7 sacraments mentioned in the Bible?


ECDQ | Flickr CC by NC ND 2.0

Philip Kosloski - published on 07/27/19

Catholics have always affirmed that all seven sacraments are found within the pages of the Bible.

You can get Aleteia inspiration and news in your inbox. Our specially curated newsletter is sent each morning. The best part? It's free.

Sign up here

The Catechism of the Catholic Church affirms, “Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life” (CCC 1210).

The Church has never wavered in its belief that the seven sacraments are not something invented by popes and bishops, but are an authentic teaching handed down to his apostles by Jesus Christ.

Here is a brief slideshow that highlights various passages from the Bible that refer to each of the seven sacraments.


Read more:
The Roman use of “sacramentum” will bring you deeper into the sacraments

Read more:
What are the sacraments of the Catholic Church?

Support Aleteia!

Enjoying your time on Aleteia?

Articles like these are sponsored free for every Catholic through the support of generous readers just like you.

Thanks to their partnership in our mission, we reach more than 20 million unique users per month!

Help us continue to bring the Gospel to people everywhere through uplifting and transformative Catholic news, stories, spirituality, and more.

Support Aleteia with a gift today!

Daily prayer
And today we celebrate...

Entrust your prayer intentions to our network of monasteries

Top 10
See More
Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here. It's Free!