Aleteia logoAleteia logo
Friday 15 January |
Saint of the Day: Bl. Nikolaus Gross
home iconArt & Culture
line break icon

Living Lent from Home: Listen to Schubert’s Psalm 23


Katherine Hanlon | Unsplash CC0

Aleteia - published on 03/22/20

He didn't just compose that Ave Maria, you know.

Franz Schubert is one of the quintessential masters from the late Classical and early Romantic eras. Born in Austria on January 31, 1797, he was baptized a Catholic the very next day. Even though he lived a rather short life (only 31 years) he composed an impressive oeuvre that includes more than 600 secular vocal works, Masses and sacred music (we all know his famous “Ave Maria,”) operas, symphonies (including his “Unfinished” symphony), piano sonatas and other chamber music.

He composed a musical arrangement for the famous Psalm 23 (“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want”) in 1820, which was originally scored for two soprano and two alto sections. Almost a lullaby, Schubert’s rendition of this psalm is exceptionally gentle, capturing the spirit of the psalm itself: “Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me …”

This psalm was specifically commissioned as part of the vocal exams at Vienna’s Konservatorium der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde, and remained among the conservatory’s examination pieces for years. Surely you will understand why, after you listen to it in the video below. Let the music inspire you, and perhaps, pray along.

Catholic MusicMusicSacred Music
Support Aleteia!

If you’re reading this article, it’s thanks to the generosity of people like you, who have made Aleteia possible.

Here are some numbers:

  • 20 million users around the world read every month
  • Aleteia is published every day in eight languages: English, French, Arabic, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish, and Slovenian
  • Each month, readers view more than 50 million pages
  • Nearly 4 million people follow Aleteia on social media
  • Each month, we publish 2,450 articles and around 40 videos
  • We have 60 full time staff and approximately 400 collaborators (writers, translators, photographers, etc.)

As you can imagine, these numbers represent a lot of work. We need you.

Support Aleteia with as little as $1. It only takes a minute. Thank you!

Daily prayer
And today we celebrate...

Top 10
Cerith Gardiner
Meet the dad who's teaching basic skills on Y...
Bret Thoman, OFS
An exorcist teaches 4 steps to forgive
Philip Kosloski
What is the Holy Cloak of St. Joseph?
Zoe Romanowsky
20-year-old filmmaker wins award for powerful...
Kathleen N. Hattrup
Why God loves ordinary stuff: Pope Francis' r...
POPE FRANCIS; Ash Wednesday
Kathleen N. Hattrup
Vatican: Imposition of ashes on Ash Wednesday...
Cerith Gardiner
Meet the family of 12 siblings with a very sp...
See More
Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here.