Aleteia logoAleteia logoAleteia
Tuesday 23 April |
Saint of the Day: St. George
Aleteia logo
separateurCreated with Sketch.

22 New members for Vatican’s dicastery on worship


Antoine Mekary | ALETEIA

I.Media - published on 06/01/22

Half of the new members are current cardinals.

The Dicastery for Worship, headed by Archbishop Arthur Roche, who will become a cardinal at the end of the summer, has 22 new members. The list was made public on June 1, 2022, by the Vatican press office, four days before the new Apostolic Constitution on the organization of the Roman Curia comes into effect.

Half of the new members are current cardinals:

Cardinal Luis Antonio G. Tagle, prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples;
Cardinal Orani João Tempesta, O. Cist., archbishop of São Sebastião do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Cardinal Charles Maung Bo, S.D.B., archbishop of Yangon, Myanmar;
Cardinal Daniel Fernando Sturla Berhouet, S.D.B., archbishop of Montevideo, Uruguay;
Cardinal Blase Joseph Cupich, archbishop of Chicago,
Cardinal Cristóbal López Romero, S.D.B., archbishop of Rabat, Morocco;
Cardinal Celestino Aós Braco, O.F.M. Cap., archbishop of Santiago de Chile;
Cardinal Kevin Joseph Farrell, prefect of the Dicastery for the Laity, Family and Life;
Cardinal Konrad Krajewski, Almoner of His Holiness;
Cardinal Mario Grech, secretary general of the Synod of Bishops;
Cardinal MarcelloSemeraro, prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints

Four more are other members of the Roman Curia:

Archbishop Lazzaro You Heung-sik, prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy;
Archbishop Filippo Iannone, O. Carm., president of the Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts;
Archbishop Joseph Augustine Di Noia, O.P., adjunct secretary of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith;
Archbishop Ilson deJesus Montanari, secretary of the Congregation for Bishops

And the others are:

Archbishop Jean Legrez, O.P., of Albi, France;
Archbishop Jaime Spengler, O.F.M., of Porto Alegre, Brazil;
Archbishop Jorge Carlos Patrón Wong of Jalapa, Mexico;
Archbishop Mario Iceta Gavicagogeascoaof Burgos, Spain;
Bishop David Douglas Crosby, O.M.I., of Hamilton, Canada;
Bishop Edmar Perón of Paranaguá, Brazil; and
Bishop Hugh Gilbert of Aberdeen, Great Britain.

This dicastery was headed until last year by Cardinal Robert Sarah of Guinea, well known in the English-speaking world for his writings, especially a book on the importance of silence.

Enjoying your time on Aleteia?

Articles like these are sponsored free for every Catholic through the support of generous readers just like you.

Help us continue to bring the Gospel to people everywhere through uplifting Catholic news, stories, spirituality, and more.

Daily prayer
And today we celebrate...

Top 10
See More
Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here.