9 / 10
The Book of the New Sun by Gene Wolfe. This science fiction novel is set in the distant future when the sun is dying and human history and technology have taken on the air of myth. It tells the story of Severian, a torturer who may become humanity's savior or destroyer.  Consisting of four books, but considered a single novel by the great Catholic author, it is currently published in two volumes, Shadow and Claw and Sword and Citadel.

© John Touhey | Aleteia