10 - Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph (San Jose, California)

This is the 5th iteration of the San Jose Cathedral, as the others were destroyed by earthquakes and fires. The portico at the entrance gives a stately impression, while the interior is richly ornamented with frescoes and Latin phrases. The church serves as the Cathedral of the Diocese of San Jose, but it also has the distinction of being a minor basilica.

9 - Cathedral Santuario de Guadalupe (Dallas, Texas)

Serving the 1.2 million citizens of Dallas, the Cathedral Shrine of the Virgin of Guadalupe is also the seat of the diocese. Built in the 19th century, the cathedral offers Mass for more than 11,000 faithful each Sunday.

8 - St. Joseph Cathedral (San Diego, California)

Built from wood and concrete, this is the seat of the Diocese of San Diego, located downtown. It was named a cathedral in 1936, during the papacy of Pope Pius XI. This very active parish offers Mass every day of the week.

7 - Cathedral of San Fernando (San Antonio, Texas)

The seat of the Archdiocese of San Antonio, serving a population of over 1.4 million. The walls of this cathedral date back to the 18th century, which some say make it the oldest church in Texas. It is also known as the Cathedral of Our Lady of Candelaria and Guadalupe.

6 - Cathedral of Saints Simon and Jude (Phoenix, Arizona)

A relatively new cathedral, built in 1966 as a parish church. The building was named a cathedral when the Diocese of Phoenix was formed in 1969. This cathedral also runs the Saints Simon and Jude Catholic School, the grounds of which are just across the street.

5 - Cathedral Basilica of Sts. Peter and Paul (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)

The largest church in, and the seat of, the Archdiocese of Philadelphia. The Cathedral Basilica of Sts. Peter and Paul has hosted two papal Masses, the first of which was celebrated by Pope St. John Paul II in 1979, and the second by Pope Francis in 2015. In order to ensure that its construction would not be too expensive, the building was erected over the course of 18 years.

4 - Co-Cathedral of the Sacred Heart (Houston, Texas)

One of the newest cathedrals to serve Catholic communities of the U.S., the Co-Cathedral of the Sacred Heart was completed in 2008. The parish itself dates back to 1896, and the previous version of the Co-Cathedral stood for over 90 years. As a Co-Cathedral, Sacred Heart shares the seat with St. Mary's Cathedral Basilica in Galveston. The two churches serve the Archdiocese of Galveston–Houston.

3 - Holy Name Cathedral (Chicago, Illinois)

The seat of the Archdiocese of Chicago, the third largest Archdioces in the U.S. Holy Name Cathedral was erected in 1875, in order to replace the Cathedral of St. Mary and Holy Name Church, both of which were completely destroyed by the Great Chicago Fire of 1871. Pope St. John Paul II also held a papal Mass here during his 1979 tour of America.

2 - Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels (Los Angeles, California)

While Los Angeles boasts the largest Catholic Archdiocese in the States, it is only the second largest city in America. The seat of the Archdiocese of Los Angeles used to be the Cathedral of St. Vibiana, but the old cathedral was irreparably damaged by an earthquake in 1994. Our Lady of the Angels has been in service since 2002.

1 - The Cathedral of Saint Patrick (New York, New York)

Known simply as St. Patrick's Cathedral, the building is one of the most iconic landmark in New York City. The city of New York is the largest in America, with a population over 8 million. The structure has been the seat of Catholicism in New York since 1910. The previous seat is a still-active church known as the Basilica of St. Patrick’s Old Cathedral, or Old St. Patrick's, and it is over 200 years old.