Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here
The world and your Catholic life, all in one place.
Subscribe to Aleteia's free newsletter!

Not Prepared to Donate?

Here are 5 ways you can still help Aleteia:

  1. Pray for our team and the success of our mission
  2. Talk about Aleteia in your parish
  3. Share Aleteia content with friends and family
  4. Turn off your ad blockers when you visit
  5. Subscribe to our free newsletter and read us daily
Thank you!
Team Aleteia


Though not a current national flag, the banner of the Crusader Kingdom of Jerusalem during the 13th century featured the Jerusalem cross. This consists of a large cross potent (or a "crutch cross") surrounded by four smaller Greek crosses, one in each quadrant. It is considered to be a symbolic depiction of the five wounds of Christ. The Jerusalem cross today remains the emblem of the Equestrian Knights of the Holy Sepulchre.
Scotland's flag shows the cross of Saint Andrew. Little is known about the life of St. Andrew, brother of St. Peter the Apostle. There is a popular story that says he was martyred near the Greek city of Patras and, not believing himself worthy of a cross like Jesus', asked to be bound to a cross in the shape of an X.
The present design of the Union Flag, the national flag of the United Kingdom, combines aspects of three older national flags: the red cross of St. George for the Kingdom of England, the white saltire of St. Andrew for Scotland, and the red saltire of St. Patrick to represent Northern Ireland. The flag was designed when Wales was still considered a part of England.
Sweden's flag, like all other Scandinavian flags but Greenland's (a part of Denmark), consists of an asymmetrical horizontal cross, with the crossbar closer to the hoist than the fly, with the cross extending to the edge of the flag. This particular cross design is commonly known as a Nordic or Scandinavian cross.
The flag of Slovakia includes this coat of arms, which now can also be found on some 2 euro coins. It consists of a red shield, with a silver double cross standing on the the middle field of a mountain consisting of three peaks. This double cross is commonly referred to as a Patriarchal cross. Similar to the familiar Latin cross, the patriarchal cross possesses a smaller crossbar placed above the main one so that both crossbars are near the top. It is the common form of the cross used in Byzantine Christianity.
Readers like you contribute to Aleteia's Mission.

Since our inception in 2012, Aleteia’s readership has grown rapidly worldwide. Our team is committed to a mission of providing articles that enrich, inspire and inform a Catholic life. That's why we want our articles to be freely accessible to everyone, but we need your help to do that. Quality journalism has a cost (more than selling ads on Aleteia can cover). That's why readers like you make a major difference by donating as little as $3 a month.