Not Prepared to Donate?

Here are 5 ways you can still help Aleteia:

  1. Pray for our team and the success of our mission
  2. Talk about Aleteia in your parish
  3. Share Aleteia content with friends and family
  4. Turn off your ad blockers when you visit
  5. Subscribe to our free newsletter and read us daily
Thank you!
Team Aleteia


Station 1: Jesus is sentenced to death.

Tradition tells us that this spot, in the courtyard of the Muslim El-Omariya School, was the site of the Praetorium of Pilate and the Lithostrotos, the place where Jesus was scourged and condemned.

Station 2: Jesus is given the Cross.

This station is between the El-Omariya School and the Franciscan museum and library.
Station 3: Jesus falls for the first time.

A small chapel was built at the site of this station during the 15th century by the Armenian Catholic Church.
Station 4: Jesus meets His Mother.

This station is located at an Armenian Orthodox oratory.
Station 5: Simon the Cyrenian helps carry the Cross. This station is located at the Chapel of Simon of Cyrene, the site of the Franciscans first home when they came to Jersualem in 1229.
Station 6: Veronica wipes Jesus' face.

This station is located at the door where it is believed that Veronica exited her house and wiped Jesus’ face with a cloth.

Station 7: Jesus falls for the second time.

This station marks the place where tradition tells us Jesus passed through the Gate of Judgment, where a copy of Jesus' death sentence was said to have been posted.

Station 8: Jesus talks to the women of Jerusalem.

This station features a carved stone Latin cross and the Roman Letters IC and XC representing the first and last letters of the Greek words IHCOYC and XPICTOC meaning “Jesus” and “Christ” respectively.
Station 9: Jesus falls for the third time. This station ends the Via Dolorosa and marks the entrance to the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, which is under the care of several Christian Churches. This photo shows the Coptic monastery there.
Station 10: Jesus is stripped of His garments.

This station is located in the Church of the Holy Sepulchre and marks Jesus’ entrance to Calvary.
Station 11: Jesus is nailed to the Cross.

This station is located at the Roman Catholic side altar of the Church of the Holy Sepulchre.
Station 12: Jesus dies on the Cross. This station is located at the main Greek Orthodox altar of the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. On both sides of the altar lies the original bedrock of Calvary, which is said to have been at the spot where Jesus’ cross was planted.
Station 13: Jesus is taken down from the Cross. This station is to the left of the main altar by a statue of the Blessed Virgin. Pictured is the Stone of the Anointing, which lies between Calvary and the tomb.
Station 14: Jesus is laid in the Sepulchre. This is the final station of the Via Dolorosa, which is located in the Rotunda. The tomb itself is located in a smaller structure called the Edicule.