Aleteia logoAleteia logo
Tuesday 13 April |
Saint of the Day: Pope St. Martin I
home iconTravel
line break icon

Pray along the National Shrine’s new Rosary walk in Washington, DC

National Shrine Rosary Walk

Katherine Ruddy | Aleteia

Zelda Caldwell - published on 10/28/17

Visitors contemplate the life of Jesus on a path representing rosary beads.

Venerable Fulton J. Sheen wrote that the physical aspect of praying the Rosary – the touching of the beads and the moving of the lips – creates a “rhythm in the soul.”

“What the runway is to the airplane, the Rosary beads are to prayer — the physical start to gain spiritual altitude,” wrote Sheen.

The rosary walk and garden outside the Basilica of National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception offers visitors and residents in Washington, D.C., a new and even more physical way to pray the Rosary.

Officially opened on September 23 during a Mass and Dedication at the Basilica, the new garden provides a peaceful oasis from which to pray the Rosary. Don’t have a set of rosary beads with you? Not a problem – the path itself facilitates the contemplation of the life of Christ that is the Rosary prayer.

A paved walkway represents the thread of the Rosary, and winds its way around five granite arches, each depicting all four groupings of mysteries of the Rosary – the Joyful, Sorrowful, the Glorious, and the Luminous.

Katherine Ruddy | Aleteia

Each arch contains a complete set of one decade of the Rosary. For example, a pilgrim (perhaps someone taking a lunch break) passing by Arch I is presented with a colorful mosaic depicting the four decade of each of the four mysteries: the Annunciation (Joyful); the Agony in the Garden (Sorrowful); the Baptism of Christ (Luminous); and the Resurrection (Gold).

For those who would like to say all 20 decades of the Rosary at once, they can take four circuits around the garden, meditating on a different mystery each time they begin a new circuit. Those who might not have the time for that, or who would prefer to say just 5 decades, can contemplate one set of mysteries at a time as they walk from arch to arch.

The garden features a white Carrara marble sculpture of Our Lady of Fatima with the three shepherd children. The Blessed Virgin Mary appeared to the children six times, and on the sixth and last appearance on October 13, 1917, she told the children her name, “the Lady of the Rosary,” and asked that people continue to recite the Rosary every day.

Katherine Ruddy | Aleteia

Across from the Fatima sculpture is a marble sculpture of Christ Crucified, marking the beginning and the end of the Rosary, when one makes the Sign of the Cross.

Katherine Ruddy | Aleteia

See more photos here:


Read more:
A beginner’s guide to praying the Rosary

Support Aleteia!

If you’re reading this article, it’s thanks to the generosity of people like you, who have made Aleteia possible.

Here are some numbers:

  • 20 million users around the world read every month
  • Aleteia is published every day in seven languages: English, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Polish, and Slovenian
  • Each month, readers view more than 50 million pages
  • Nearly 4 million people follow Aleteia on social media
  • Each month, we publish 2,450 articles and around 40 videos
  • We have 60 full time staff and approximately 400 collaborators (writers, translators, photographers, etc.)

As you can imagine, these numbers represent a lot of work. We need you.

Support Aleteia with as little as $1. It only takes a minute. Thank you!

Daily prayer
And today we celebrate...

Top 10
Cerith Gardiner
11 Interesting facts about the late Prince Philip
Fr Robert McTeigue, SJ
A simple test to see if you really believe Christ is risen
Archbishop Georg Gänswein
I.Media for Aleteia
Gänswein: Benedict XVI expected to live only a few months after r...
Fr. Patrick Briscoe, OP
St. Faustina’s coffee cup and lessons for Divine Mercy Sund...
Here’s how to celebrate Divine Mercy Sunday at home
Philip Kosloski
Why you can eat meat on Easter Friday
Sister Bhagya
Saji Thomas-ACN
Catholic nun faces conversion charges in central India
See More
Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here.