Aleteia logoAleteia logoAleteia
Thursday 18 April |
Saint of the Day: Bl. Maria Anna Blondin
Aleteia logo
separateurCreated with Sketch.

Did you know Catholics have a small number of “obligations”?


Exe Lobaiza | Cathopic CC0

Philip Kosloski - published on 08/20/20

The precepts of the Church lay out the bare minimum for what is required to lead a holy life.

The Catholic Church is often viewed as a religious organization with all these rules to follow. However, in reality there are only a handful of obligations, which stipulate the bare minimum of what is required to lead a life united to Jesus Christ.

These rules are called the precepts of the Church and are meant to be viewed as guideposts along the pathway to Heaven. They help us keep focused on the end goal and stay on the right path. Without them, we can easily wander aimlessly through life, not knowing where to go or what to do, hoping that we will reach the end.

The Catechism of the Catholic Church explains, “The precepts of the Church are set in the context of a moral life bound to and nourished by liturgical life. The obligatory character of these positive laws decreed by the pastoral authorities is meant to guarantee to the faithful the indispensable minimum in the spirit of prayer and moral effort, in the growth in love of God and neighbor” (CCC 2041).

The precepts lay out the minimum we need to follow. It’s always possible to go above and beyond the minimum and the saints are examples of men and women who did exactly that by living “heroic virtue.” The saints weren’t satisfied with only a passing grade, but wanted to excel and reach the top of the class.

Here is a brief summary of each precept, giving you an idea of the very few obligations that Catholics are instructed to follow. They are not given to be oppressive, but to lead us to an eternity of peace and happiness.


Read more:
How do you keep Sunday “holy”?

1The first precept ('You shall attend Mass on Sundays and holy days of obligation') requires the faithful to participate in the Eucharistic celebration when the Christian community gathers together on the day commemorating the Resurrection of the Lord.

2The second precept ('You shall confess your sins at least once a year') ensures preparation for the Eucharist by the reception of the sacrament of reconciliation, which continues Baptism’s work of conversion and forgiveness.

3The third precept ('You shall humbly receive your Creator in Holy Communion at least during the Easter season') guarantees as a minimum the reception of the Lord’s Body and Blood in connection with the Paschal feasts, the origin and center of the Christian liturgy.

4The fourth precept ('You shall keep holy the holy days of obligation') completes the Sunday observance by participation in the principal liturgical feasts which honor the mysteries of the Lord, the Virgin Mary, and the saints.

5The fifth precept ('You shall observe the prescribed days of fasting and abstinence') ensures the times of ascesis and penance which prepare us for the liturgical feasts; they help us acquire mastery over our instincts and freedom of heart.

Additionally, “The faithful also have the duty of providing for the material needs of the Church, each according to his abilities.”

Read more:
What is a holy day of obligation? When are they?

Read more:
Why does fasting have anything to do with a far-away war?

Enjoying your time on Aleteia?

Articles like these are sponsored free for every Catholic through the support of generous readers just like you.

Help us continue to bring the Gospel to people everywhere through uplifting Catholic news, stories, spirituality, and more.

Daily prayer
And today we celebrate...

Top 10
See More
Get Aleteia delivered to your inbox. Subscribe here.